Black Panther

Superhero films aren’t known for winning Oscars, but Disney is pinning high hopes on ‘Black Panther‘ being able to take a few home this year. While Marvel Studios has had nine nominations for their films in the past, Disney is pushing ‘Black Panther’ for just about every major award that matters for next year’s Academy Awards. It looks like they aren’t happy with just rocking The Saturn Awards this year and rightfully so!

Their For Your Consideration List goes a little something like this:

  • Best Picture
  • Best Director: Ryan Coogler
  • Best Actor: Chadwick Boseman
  • Best Supporting Actor: Michael B. Jordan, Martin Freeman, Daniel Kaluuya, Winston Duke, Sterling K. Brown, Forest Whitaker, Andy Serkis
  • Best Actress: Lupita Nyong’o, Danai Gurira, Letitia Wright, Angela Bassett
  • Best Adapted Screenplay
  • Cinematography
  • Film Editing
  • Costume Design
  • Visual Effects
  • Original Score
  • Original Song: ‘All the Stars’

Yes, folks, you read that right on how many names the studio is submitting for both Best Supporting Actor and Best Actress.

The Marvel Cinematic Universe has yet to receive an Oscar for any of their movies, but this is also the first time Marvel has felt confident enough to make a push in the Best Picture category.

With even ‘Suicide Squad’ having won an award at this point, it would be almost a joke if the Academy Awards didn’t see fit to include any of these nominations.

If the movie somehow manages a clean sleep, perhaps they can even make a custom award:

Which Oscars do you feel ‘Black Panther’ deserves to win? Will this be the year that Marvel Studios finally wins an award after DC has already taken a couple in recent years? Share your thoughts below, True Believers!

Source: Entertainment Weekly