The Dark Crystal: Age Of Resistance

It may not be a new trailer, but for fans of Jim Henson and his style of old fashioned puppetry and practical effects, this clip might be even better!  The Jim Henson Company is revisiting Henson and Frank Oz’s 1982 cult classic film ‘The Dark Crystal’ to present the Netflix prequel series ‘The Dark Crystal: Age of Resistance’.  Louis Leterrier (‘Clash of the Titans’) directed.  In the video, he explains:

“The idea is you forget you’re watching puppets.”

Check out this behind the scenes featurette.  Though it starts off with mostly “making of” footage, there are plenty of completed shots from the show itself, and… puppetry has come a long way since 1982!

Based on The Dark Crystal, Jim Henson’s groundbreaking 1982 feature film, The Dark Crystal: Age of Resistance tells a new epic story, set many years before the events of the movie, and realized using classic puppetry with cutting edge visual effects. The world of Thra is dying. The Crystal of Truth is at the heart of Thra, a source of untold power. But it is damaged, corrupted by the evil Skeksis, and a sickness spreads across the land. When three Gelfling uncover the horrific truth behind the power of the Skeksis, an adventure unfolds as the fires of rebellion are lit and an epic battle for the planet begins.


The series features Taron Egerton as the voice of Rian, a Gelfling Crystal Castle guard of the Stonewood Clan; Anya Taylor-Joy as Brea, a Gelfling princess of the Vapra Clan; Nathalie Emmanuel as Deet, a Gelfling animal carer of the Grottan Clan; and Donna Kimball as Aughr, the embodiment of the planet Thra and an astronomer.


RELATED: Darkness Rises In The ‘The Dark Crystal: Age Of Resistance’ Trailer


The series features a massive star-studded cast: Awkwafina, Caitriona Balfe, Helena Bonham Carter, Harris Dickinson, Alice Dinnean, Natalie Dormer, Harvey Fierstein, Dave Goelz, Louise Gold, Mark Hamill, Lena Headey, Ralph Ineson, Jason Isaacs, Eddie Izzard, Theo James, Hannah John-Kamen, Toby Jones, Keegan-Michael Key, Shazad Latif, Gugu Mbatha-Raw, Ólafur Darri Ólafsson, Simon Pegg, Andy Samberg, Neil Sterenberg, Mark Strong, Alicia Vikander, Benedict Wong, and Victor Yerrid.

Though it was previously released, here is another look at the ornate poster for ‘The Dark Crystal: Age of Resistance’:


There are ten episodes of ‘The Dark Crystal: Age of Resistance’.  You can catch them on Netflix on August 30.