Power Rangers

Well, maybe this will do more to rev people up for Lionsgate’s upcoming ‘Saban’s Power Rangers’.  The first vague teaser poster, which only featured the five teen protagonists in silhouette form, from a distance, bearing the rather generic tag line “Together We Are More” failed to impress.  (Here it is anyway:)


But this should elicit a better response.  The studio has released five character posters featuring each of the new stars, taking on the roles of the first batch of Rangers.  Each image is marked by the famous lightning bolt logo which was also featured in the above poster.

First is R.J. Cyler as Billy the Blue Ranger:


Becky G. as Trini the Yellow Ranger:


Ludi Lin as Zack the Black Ranger:


Dacre Montgomery as Jason the Red Ranger:


Naomi Scott as Kimberly the Pink Ranger:


Well, if nothing else, that’s an attractive bunch.

Their last names don’t appear and may very well be the same as the original TV versions (Billy Cranston, Trini Kwan, Zack Taylor, Jason Lee Scott and Kimberly Hart) but they may be altered for… well, ethnic reasons.  For instance, Kwan was obviously meant to reflect the original Trini, Thuy Trang’s Asian heritage.  But Becky G. is of Mexican descent, so that may not fit.  But then again, they may just shrug it off.  America is supposed to be a melting pot, after all.

The original Rangers were played by David Yost/Billy, Thuy Trang/Trini, Walter Emmanuel Jones/Zack, Austin St. John/Jason and Amy Jo Johnson/Kimberly.

The new cast will be present at SDCC next weekend, but it’s unclear in what capacity, as Lionsgate does not have a panel scheduled that weekend.  They will also appear on the MTV Fandom Awards which will air from PetCo Park at SDCC and airs on Sunday July 24 at 8pm EST on MTV.  (Voting for the Fandom Awards is actually still ongoing.  You can cast your votes here.)

Directed by Dean Israelite, ‘Saban’s Power Rangers’ stars Elizabeth Banks, Bryan Cranston, R.J. Cyler, Becky G, Ludi Lin, Dacre Montgomery, Naomi Scott, Lisa Berry, Caroline Cave, David Denman, Anjali Jay, Sarah Grey, Emily Maddison, Kayden Magnuson, and Patrick Sabongui and hits theaters on April 24, 2017.

Do these new posters get you more excited for the new movie than the last one?

Source: Comic Book Resources