Today you’re in luck if you can’t wait for the ‘Awesome Mix Volume 2’ from ‘Guardians of the Galaxy 2!’ Marvel has just announced that the Cosmic Mix Volume 1 will be available to go along with the ‘Guardians of the Galaxy’ animated series on Disney XD. Just like the original ‘Awesome Mix Volume 1‘ we’re going to hear a combination of classic tracks from the 70s and 80s. It’ll be interesting to see if it is able to hit the high sales of the first mix which was the second best-selling soundtrack from 2014.

With the first Awesome Mix such a center point to Peter Quill’s character, the musical tone of the movie, and a work of art in itself, I can’t wait to see how the Cosmic Mix plays within the new series. While we don’t know how the songs will be used in the cartoon, it is very clear that we’ve got some great tracks on it.

The release is being announced just a couple weeks prior to the Saturday, September 26 (9:30 p.m., ET/PT) premiere of the animated ‘Guardians of the Galaxy’ series on Disney XD.

So what 12 songs are going to grace our ears on this compilation? You might recognize the first one from the last time around but we’ve mostly got some new titles here!

1. “Hooked On a Feeling” – Blue Swede
2. “Funk No. 49″ – The James Gang
3. “Drift Away” – Dobie Gray
4. “Walk Away” – The James Gang
5. “Boys Are Back in Town” – Thin Lizzy
6. “Shake Your Groove Thing” – Peaches and Herb
7. “Funk Funk” – Cameo
8. “Joy to the World” – Three Dog Night
9. “I Will Survive” – Gloria Gaynor
10. “Rocky Mountain Way” – Joe Walsh
11. “So You Are a Star” – Hudson Brothers
12. “Don’t Stop Me Now” – Queen

With one song from the original soundtrack, it does make you wonder if we might see one of these tracks end up on the Awesome Mix Vol. 2. You can listen to all of the songs below!

Are you looking forward to the release of the Cosmic Mix Vol 1.? Do you think this soundtrack and the animated series will tide you over until ‘Guardians of the Galaxy 2’ or does the film need to be released already? Share your thoughts below True Believers!

Marvel’s Guardians Of The Galaxy: Cosmic Mix Vol. 1 (Music From The Animated Television Series) will be released on October 16th, 2015.

Source: Slash Film