Comic Books

  • What’s On Comic Book Stands – April 2nd

    Posted Tuesday, April 1st, 2014 11:00 am GMT -4
    by

    Here is the list of new comics, trade paperbacks and more shipping on 4/2/2014. As always, check with your retailer for availability, as not all releases may be on sale in all areas at the same time. Here is what’s on my pull-list this week. In ‘Angel & Faith Season 10′ #1, Angel’s work is never […]

  • ‘Sandman Overture’ Plagued By Further Delays

    Posted Monday, March 31st, 2014 05:26 pm GMT -4
    by

    Neil Gaiman’s return to the dream world of ‘Sandman’ his long-running, ground-breaking Vertigo series, the miniseries ‘Sandman Overture’ has already run into a few speed bumps.  The second issue was due in December, but only just arrived last week.  Now the April release date for issue #3 looks like a fantasy as well. Gaiman spoke […]

  • Screenwriter Andre Nemec Comments On The First Trailer For ‘Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles’

    Posted Monday, March 31st, 2014 03:00 pm GMT -4
    by

    The new live action ‘Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles’ movie has had fans on their guard almost from the beginning, with the announcement that controversial ‘Transformers’ director Michael Bay would be producing and early rumors that rather than mutated terrestrial turtles, these heroes on a half shell would actually turn out to be aliens from outer […]

  • New ‘Amazing Spider-Man 2′ Pics And Clips

    Posted Monday, March 31st, 2014 01:00 pm GMT -4
    by

    You could almost call this the summer of the super heroes with so many spandex clad adventurers headed for the big screen.  Included is Andrew Garfield reprising the role of a certain famous wall-crawler in the sequel ‘Amazing Spider-Man 2′.  In this outing, Spidey is really put to the test, facing off against three colorful […]

  • Comic Book Review: ‘Superior Spider-Man’ #30

    Posted Sunday, March 30th, 2014 07:00 pm GMT -4
    by

    We have finally reached the penultimate issue of ‘Superior Spider-Man’. There’s only one issue left and it’s for all the marbles, but before the final battle, we have quite the game changer this week. After a highly emotional chapter in the Otto Octavius story in the last issue, the action was so plentiful that our […]

  • Comic Book Review: ‘Avengers Assemble’ #25

    Posted Sunday, March 30th, 2014 05:00 pm GMT -4
    by

    This is it. The final issue of ‘Avengers Assemble’ is out in the world right now and it was quite the fitting sendoff for one of the most fun books on my pull list in a while. Fans of Spider-Girl, Team Sad, Hawkguy, Team Captains, ‘Avengers: Earth’s Mightiest Heroes’, and everything else that spawned from […]

  • Comic Book Review: ‘The Walking Dead’ #124

    Posted Sunday, March 30th, 2014 01:00 pm GMT -4
    by

    With just two more chapters of ‘All Out war’ to follow, things are heating up as Maggie takes on a leadership role at the Hilltop and Negan and the Saviors to attack the settlement.  Last issue, he instructed his soldiers to “dirty” up their weapons, covering them in walker blood so that even the victims […]

  • Comic Book Review: ‘Amazing X-Men’ #5: ‘The Quest For Nightcrawler’ Part 5

    Posted Sunday, March 30th, 2014 10:00 am GMT -4
    by

    The last book of ‘Amazing X-Men delved deeper into the war between Nightcrawler and Azazel with the tide starting to change as the X-Men having finally regrouped! While Nightcrawler has been wanting to fill his twilight with one last adventure, it should be quite clear that he didn’t expect it to be one of such […]

  • Comic Book Review: ‘Superior Spider-Man Team-Up’ #11

    Posted Saturday, March 29th, 2014 09:00 pm GMT -4
    by

    While ‘Goblin Nation’ might be taking over the pages of ‘Superior Spider-Man’ right now, we had a quick moment of reflection of what the Doctor is actually thinking in a scene from this month’s ‘Superior Spider-Man’. With the two being Spider-Man’s greatest enemies this could have been the perfect partnership that could have ended with […]

  • Comic Book Review: ‘Silver Surfer’ #1

    Posted Saturday, March 29th, 2014 05:00 pm GMT -4
    by

    It’s quite fitting that ‘Silver Surfer’ #1 came out this week. In fact, it couldn’t have been more perfect. On March 26th, Whovians around the world celebrated the anniversary of the first appearance of the Ninth Doctor, portrayed by ‘Thor: The Dark World’ star Christopher Eccleston. But what does the Doctor have to do with […]

  • Comic Book Review: ‘Guardians of the Galaxy’ #13: ‘The Trial Of Jean Grey’ Part 6

    Posted Saturday, March 29th, 2014 01:00 pm GMT -4
    by

    The last issue of ‘All-New X-Men‘ had a huge fight breaking out from the Shi’ar pitting themselves against the the All-New X-Men, Starjammers, and Guardians of the Galaxy. Jean stepped in at the very end of the issue and claimed that she was guilty of all of the crimes she was being accused of. Uh-oh. […]

  • Comic Book Review: ‘All-New X-Factor’ #5

    Posted Saturday, March 29th, 2014 09:00 am GMT -4
    by

    I wasn’t quite sure where they were going to go  bringing Danger to the team in the last issue, but now it all makes sense. Pater David was able to make a cohesive story in this issue that is well told and not only makes sense to both new fans but will resonate with fans […]

  • Two New Clips From ‘Captain America: The Winter Soldier’ Showcase Black Widow And The Winter Soldier

    Posted Friday, March 28th, 2014 12:03 pm GMT -4
    by

    Going through Marvel movie withdrawal?  Well, your next fix is just over a week away, when ‘Captain America: The Winter Soldier’ premiers on the big screen on April 4th.  There have been many clips and photos released to tease audiences and… well, here are a couple more. First, even though Cap gets top billing, he […]

  • Are Robert Downey Jr.’s Days As Iron Man Numbered?

    Posted Friday, March 28th, 2014 11:30 am GMT -4
    by

    Robert Downey Jr. essentially kicked off the Marvel renaissance of movies with his turn as Tony Stark in ‘Iron Man’ which led to two sequels and a little film you may have heard of called ‘The Avengers’.  But is RDJ a lock for future Marvel movies?  Perhaps not! The actor is in no way affiliated […]

  • Comic Book Preview: ‘Captain America: Homecoming’ #1

    Posted Thursday, March 27th, 2014 06:56 pm GMT -4
    by

    Marvel is one of the biggest entities in entertainment today. Whether if it’s in the movie theater, on your television set, or on your handheld device, superheroes like Captain America, Iron Man, and Thor can be found just about anywhere these days. But they all got their starts in the pages of Marvel Comics and […]