Aisha Tyler
Featureflash Photo Agency /

The 45th annual Saturn Awards will be held this Friday, September 13th, at 9:00 pm EST/6pm PST, at the Avalon Theater in Hollywood, and it has been announced that noted fangirl Aisha Tyler will host the event.  For the first time, these awards will be broadcast via Cinedigm, Nerdist, the newly launched Pluto TV Sci-Fi Channel, Shout Factory TV, Twitch,, and on the Saturn Awards channel on YouTube.

Tyler is a notable stand-up comedian and actor.  She hosts ‘Whose Line is it Anyway?’, plays Doctor Tara Lewis on ‘Criminal Minds’ and provides the voice of Lana Kane on ‘Archer’.  (Incidentally, ‘Archer’ is nominated for Best Animated TV Series.)  Among her previous credits are ‘The Ghost Whisperer’, ‘CSI: Crime Scene Investigation’, ’24’, and ‘Friends’.  She has served as co-host of ‘CBS This Morning’, ‘Entertainment Tonight’, ‘The Talk’, and she even had her own chat show for a while, ‘Unapologetic with Aisha Tyler’ on AMC.

Regarding her Saturn Awards hosting gig, she stated:

“I’m thrilled to be spending a night honoring the best in genre storytelling. I’ve loved sci-fi and fantasy since I was a little girl, and it’s a blast to get to celebrate the brilliant minds and thrilling stories that shape our loftiest dreams, and fuel our darkest nightmares.”

Saturn Media’s CEO Justin W. Hochberg added:

“For the first time ever fans can watch the Saturns, it only made sense to create the largest collaboration of partners ever assembled to showcase the biggest night in genre programming. Aisha Tyler is one of the most versatile artists in entertainment and we could not imagine a more perfect host to take the Saturn Awards into this new era and throughout the galaxy. You’re all invited!”

For a complete list of this year’s nominees, click here.

Perhaps because this year’s awards will be streamed, there is an all-star list of celebrities that will be in attendance: Melissa Benoist (Supergirl), Gina Carano (The Mandalorian), Jon Cryer (Supergirl), Cameron Cuffe (Krypton), Jamie Lee Curtis (Halloween), Dean Devlin (Outpost), The Duffer Brothers (Stranger Things), Jon Favreau (Visionary Award recipient), Kevin Feige (Stan Lee World Builder Award recipient), Robert Forster (Twin Peaks, Jackie Brown), Vince Gilligan (Better Call Saul), Jessica Green (The Outpost), Harvey Guillen (What We Do in the Shadows), Faithe Herman (Shazam), Sydney Lemmon (Fear the Walking Dead), Jeph Loeb (Dan Curtis Legacy Award Recipient), Christopher Markus (Avengers: Endgame), Stephen McFeely (Avengers: Endgame), Tonya Pinkins (Fear the Walking Dead), Lance Reddick (Bosch, John Wick), Jason Mewes (Jay and Silent Bob Reboot), George Takei (Star Trek), Henry Thomas (The Haunting of Hill House), Jennifer Tilly (Bound, Bride of Chucky), Gina Torres (Pearson, Firefly), and Daphne Zuniga (Spaceballs).

For a list of last year’s winners, click here.

Be sure to tune into the outlet of your choice this Friday to see who wins at this year’s Saturn Awards!  (If you miss it, check back here as we’ll provide a list of all the winners.)