Here Are The Nominees For The 2019 Harvey Awards

The Harvey Awards are one of the major comic book award ceremonies celebrated each year and the 2019 nominees have been revealed! For those unfamiliar with the honor, the Harvey Awards recognize outstanding achievement in the American comic book industry and has been a fixture of the industry since 1988. They put a spotlight on a variety of media styles and are the only industry awards selected by a comic and publishing professionals.

This year’s awards are slated to be revealed on October 4th, 2019 at an invite-only event during New York Comic-Con.

John Lind, co-chair of the Harvey Awards Steering Committee shared the following about this year’s awards:

“This year marks the 31st presentation of the Harvey Awards and the third year working with our hosting partners at ReedPOP. We congratulate this year’s nominees, who have produced some of the best projects in the industry over the past year, and we’re looking forward to seeing the results of the voting and honoring the winners at the Harveys at NYCC.”

Speaking of ReedPOP, Vice President of ReedPOP Mike Armstrong added:

“We’re seeing incredible work come from not just traditional comic publishers but from digital publishers as well by a hugely diverse group of creators across nearly every genre. I wish all of our wonderful nominees the best of luck and look forward to celebrating them at this year’s awards ceremony during New York Comic Con.”

The full list of nominees can be seen below:

Book of the Year Award

  • “Belonging: A German Reckons with History and Home” by Nora Krug, Scribner
  • “Berlin” by Jason Lutes, Drawn & Quarterly
  • BTTM FDRS by Ezra Claytan Daniels and Ben Passmore, Fantagraphics
  • “Hey Kiddo,” by Jarrett J. Krosoczka, Scholastic Graphix
  • “Kid Gloves,” by Lucy Knisley, First Second
  • Laura Dean Keeps Breaking Up With Me,” by Mariko Tamaki and Rosemary Valero-O’Connell, First Second
  • “My Heroes Have Always Been Junkies,” by Ed Brubaker and Sean Phillips, Image Comics
  • “On a Sunbeam,” by Tillie Walden, First Second
  • “Upgrade Soul,” by Ezra Claytan Daniels, Lion Forge
  • “When I Arrived at the Castle,” by Emily Carroll, Koyama Press

Digital Book of the Year Award

Best Children’s or Young Adult Book Award

  • “Hey Kiddo,” by Jarrett J. Krosoczka, Scholastic Graphix
  • “Laura Dean Keeps Breaking Up With Me,” by Mariko Tamaki and Rosemary Valero-O’Connell, First Second
  • “Mr. Wolf’s Class #2: Mystery Club,” by Aron Nels Steinke, Scholastic Graphix
  • “New Kid,” by Jerry Craft, HarperCollins Children’s Books
  • “On a Sunbeam,” by Tillie Walden, First Second

Children’s or Young Adult Book Award

  • “Frankenstein: Junji Ito Story Collection,” by Junji Ito, VIZ Media
  • “Mob Psycho 100,” by ONE, Dark Horse Manga
  • “My Hero Academia,” by Kohei Horikoshi, VIZ Media
  • “Our Dreams at Dusk,” by Yuhki Kamatani, Seven Seas
  • “Smashed,” by Junji Ito, VIZ Media
  • “Witch Hat Atelier,” by Kamome Shirahama, Kodansha Comics

European Book Award

  • “Corto Maltese,” by Hugo Pratt, IDW Publishing
  • “O Josephine,” by Jason, Fantagraphics
  • “Radiant,” by Tony Valente, VIZ Media
  • “Red Ultramarine,” by Manuele Fior, translated by Jamie Richards, Fantagraphics
  • “Waves,” by Ingrid Chabbert and Carole Maurel, Archaia

Comics Adaptation Award

  • “Alita: Battle Angel,” Twentieth Century Fox, based on Battle Angel Alita (Kodansha USA)
  • “Avengers: Endgame,” Marvel Studios, based on The Avengers (Marvel Comics)
  • “The Boys,” Amazon Studios, based on The Boys (Dynamite Entertainment)
  • “Captain Marvel,” Marvel Studios, based on Captain Marvel (Marvel Comics)
  • “Chilling Adventures of Sabrina,” Netflix, based on Chilling Adventures of Sabrina (Archie Comics)
  • “Doom Patrol,” DC Universe, based on Doom Patrol (DC Comics)
  • “Marvel’s Spider-Man,” Insomniac Games/Sony Interactive, based on Spider-Man (Marvel Comics)
  • “The Snagglepuss Chronicles,” Provincetown (Mass.) Tennessee Williams Theater Festival and Die-Cast, based on Exit, Stage Left!: The Snagglepuss Chronicles (DC Comics)
  • “Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse,” Columbia Pictures and Sony Pictures Animation, based on Spider-Man (Marvel Comics)
  • “The Umbrella Academy,” Netflix, based on The Umbrella Academy (Dark Horse Comics)

I’m only familiar enough with the last category to try and get my hopes up for anyone and while I loved most of those adaptations, I really want ‘Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse’ to take home the award for how they portrayed a comic book property.

Are you looking forward to seeing who wins this year’s Harvey Awards? Which of the titles that have been nominated have you read or seen? Share your thoughts in the comments below!


Source: Forbes