the magicians

Those catty sorcerers will be back for more!  Syfy has renewed its soapy action drama ‘The Magicians’ for a fourth season, which will debut in 2019.  An exact date wasn’t given, but all three seasons so far have premiered in January, so that will most likely remain consistent.  (Well, technically, the first episode of Season One premiered in December as a preview.)  ‘The Magicians’ has been Syfy’s top-rated scripted series in the 18-49 demographic since it premiered in 2015-16, so this renewal comes as no surprise.

The TV series, created by Sera Gamble and John McNamara, is based on the novel series by Lev Grossman.  The show was initially set at Brakebills University for Magical Pedagogy… kind of a sexier Hogwarts for older students.  But eventually, most of the action shifted to the magical kingdom of Fillory, from the kids’ novels ‘Fillory and Further’ (an obvious Harry Potter homage), which were the favorite books of main character Quentin Coldwater.  The current third season finds the main cast on a quest for the Seven Golden Keys to restore magic to the world after it was wiped out at the end of Season Two.

Jason Ralph stars as the main character Quentin Coldwater, with Stella Maeve as Julia Wicker, Olivia Taylor Dudley as Alice Quinn, Hale Appleman as Eliot Waugh, Arjun Gupta as William “Penny” Adiyodi, Summer Bishil as Margo Hanson, Rick Worthy as Henry Fogg, Jade Tailor as Kady Orloff-Diaz, Brittany Curran as Fen and Trevor Einhorn as Josh Hoberman.

In addition to Gamble and McNamara, the show is executive produced by Mike Cahill, Michael London, Henry Alonso Myers, Scott Smith and Janice Williams.  It films in Vancouver, British Columbia.  It has been nominated twice for the Saturn Award for Best Television Series.

‘The Magicians’ airs on Syfy Wednesdays at 9 PM EST.

Source: Deadline