suicide squad

After weeks of teasing that the first music video from the ‘Suicide Squad’ soundtrack would be ‘Purple Lamborghini’ by dubstep superstar Skrillex and rapper Rick Ross, featuring Jared Leto as The Joker, Warner Brothers has pulled a switcheroo, instead releasing the more radio friendly ‘Heathens’ by twenty one pilots.  You can hear twenty one pilots’ breakthrough hit ‘Stressed Out’ on Top 40 radio approximately every 15 minutes.  Go on, check, I’ll wait…

On the upside, the clip does feature footage from the movie, which won’t be out until later this summer.

Check it out below:

It’s likely that ‘Purple Lamborghini’ will still be released as a single/video, as we have a picture of Skrillex and Rick Ross from the video:


While, we’re at it, here is a picture of Wiz Khalifa also purportedly for a video for a song on the soundtrack:


Khalifa collaborated with Lil Wayne, Imagine Dragons, Logic, Ty Dolla $ign and X Ambassadors on the track ‘Sucker For Pain’ which also appears on the soundtrack.  As you surely know, Khalifa had the biggest hit of his career last summer with the song ‘See You Again’ from the soundtrack of ‘Furious 7’… which you can also STILL hear on Top 40 radio approximately every 15 minutes.  Go on, check, I’ll wait…

So it looks like Warner Brothers plans on cranking out several singles from the ‘Suicide Squad’ soundtrack in advance of the film’s release.

Here is the track listing for the entire album:

  1. Purple Lamborghini [Explicit] by Skrillex & Rick Ross
  2. Sucker For Pain (with Logic, Ty Dolla $ign & X Ambassadors) [Explicit] by Lil Wayne, Wiz Khalifa & Imagine Dragons
  3. Heathens by twenty one pilots
  4. Standing In The Rain (feat. Mark Ronson) [Explicit] by Action Bronson & Dan Auerbach (of The Black Keys)
  5. Gangsta [Explicit] by Kehlani
  6. Know Better [Explicit] by Kevin Gates
  7. You Don’t Own Me (feat. G-Eazy) by Grace
  8. Without Me by Eminem
  9. Wreak Havoc by Skylar Grey
  10. Medieval Warfare by Grimes
  11. Bohemian Rhapsody by Panic! At The Disco
  12. Slippin’ Into Darkness by War
  13. Fortunate Son by Creedence Clearwater Revival
  14. I Started a Joke (feat. Becky Hanson) by ConfidentialMX

As you can see, the full soundtrack mixes new tracks with classics by Eminem and War, plus a cover of ‘Bohemian Rhapsody’ originally by Queen (heard in one of the early trailers) by Panic! At The Disco.

As a bonus, here are some additional photos that have leaked online from various music videos:




It feels good to be bad… Assemble a team of the world’s most dangerous, incarcerated Supervillains, provide them with the most powerful arsenal at the government’s disposal, and send them off on a mission to defeat an enigmatic, insuperable entity. U.S. intelligence officer Amanda Waller has determined only a secretly convened group of disparate, despicable individuals with next to nothing to lose will do. However, once they realize they weren’t picked to succeed but chosen for their patent culpability when they inevitably fail, will the Suicide Squad resolve to die trying, or decide it’s every man for himself?

The ‘Suicide Squad’ soundtrack can be pre-ordered now from Apple and Amazon.  When you pre-order, you automatically get the download of ‘Heathens’.

Does this soundtrack get you pumped for the film?  Do you think ‘Heathens’ suits the feel of ‘Suicide Squad’?

‘Suicide Squad’ starring Will Smith, Margot Robbie, Jared Leto, Jai Courtney, Joel Kinnaman, Cara Delevingne, Viola Davis, Adewale Akinnuoye-Agbaje, Adam Beach, Jay Hernandez, Ike Barinholtz, Scott Eastwood, and Karen Fukahara hits theaters on August 5, 2016.

Sources: Cosmic Book News, Cinema Blend