As a part of Baltimore Comic Con, the industry gathered for the 25th Harvey Awards on September 8th, 2012 to honor members of the comic book community. Named in honor of cartoonist, writer, editor, and comics genius Harvey Kurtzman, recognition is given in such categories as Best Writer, Best Artist, Most Promising New Talent, and more. This year, the event was attended by the likes of ‘Daredevil’ team Mark Waid, inker Joe Rivera, and artist Paolo Rivera, ‘Batman’ writer Scott Snyder, ‘Animal Man’ writer Jeff Lemire, Stan “The Man” Lee, and John Romita, senior and junior.

Hosted by Phil LaMarr, ‘Mad TV’ cast member and voice of Green Lantern in ‘Justice League’, the night simultaneously praised some members of their community, while teasing other members, especially Mark Waid, who’s book ‘Daredevil’ took home a total of 4 out of 6 awards. Other multi-winners included ‘Jim Henson’s Tale of Sand’, Walt Simonson, artist J.H. Williams, and Kate Beaton of ‘Hark! A Vagrant’.

In addition to the regular awards, two very special awards were given out. The first was the Dick Giordano Humanitarian of the Year Award presented by The Hero Initiative to the late, great Joe Kubert. The second was a Lifetime Achievement Award presented to John Romita, Jr., which was presented to him by two living legends of the industry, his father, John Romita, Sr., and Stan Lee. Check out these highlights from Romita’s acceptance of the award in the form of video coverage thanks to The Pretentious Film Majors:

Here’s a complete list of 2012 Harvey Award winners:

Best Letterer:

  • Chris Eliopoulos for ‘Fear Itself’ (Marvel)

Best Colorist:

  • Dave Stewart for ‘Hellboy: The Fury’ (Dark Horse)

Best Syndicated Strip or Panel:

  • ‘Cul De Sac’ by Richard Thompson (Universal Press Syndicate)

Best Online Comics Work:

  • ‘Hark! A Vagrant’ by Kate Beaton

Best American Edition of Foreign Material:

  • ‘The Manara Library Vol. 1: Indian Summer And Other Stories’

Best Inker:

  • Joe Rivera for ‘Daredevil’ (Marvel)

Best New Series:

  • ‘Daredevil’ (Marvel)

Most Promising New Talent:

  • Sara Pichelli for ‘Ultimate Spider-Man’ (Marvel)

Special Award For Humor In Comics:

  • Kate Beaton for ‘Hark! A Vagrant’ (Drawn and Quarterly)

Best Original Graphic Publication For Younger Readers:

  • ‘Anya’s Ghost’ (First Second)

Best Graphic Album Previously Published:

  • ‘The Death Ray’ (Drawn and Quarterly)

Best Anthology:

  • ‘Dark Horse Presents’ (Dark Horse)

Best Domestic Reprint Project:

  • ‘Walt Simonson’s The Mighty Thor: Artist’s Edition’ (IDW)

Best Cover Art:

  • J.H. Williams for ‘Batwoman’ (DC)

Best Historical, Biographical, or Journalistic Presentation:

  • ‘Genius Isolated: The Life and Art of Alex Toth’ (IDW)

Special Award For Excellence In Presentation:

  • ‘Walt Simonson’s The Mighty Thor: Artist’s Edition’ designed by Randall Dahlk & edited by Scott Dunbier (IDW)

Best Graphic Album Original:

  • ‘Jim Henson’s Tale of Sand’ (Archaia Entertainment)

Best Continuing or Limited Series:

  • ‘Daredevil’ (Marvel)

Best Writer:

  • Mark Waid for ‘Daredevil’ (Marvel)

Best Artist:

  • J.H. Williams for ‘Batwoman’ (DC)

Best Cartoonist:

  • Kate Beaton for ‘Hark! A Vagrant’ (Drawn and Quarterly)

Best Single Issue or Story:

  • ‘Jim Henson’s Tale of Sand’ (Archaia Entertainment)

Finally, here are some pictures from the night taken by Corey Johnson, Austin LoCicero, and Tom Caswell of The Pretentious Film Majors: