The Hugo Award statuette

Sunday, September 3, 2012 science fiction creators were honored at the Hugo Award ceremonies which were held as part of the Worldcon celebrations. The annual awards recognize the best in science fiction and fantasy and are analogous to the Oscars in the sci-fi genre. This year’s nominees included George R. R. Martin, Neil Gaiman, Bob Eggleton, and James S. A. Corey.  The event was available to watch on Ustream but for those who were unable to catch it, we have the results for you here!

Some of the highlights of the event included Jo Walton receiving the award for Best Novel for her work on ‘Among Others,’ ‘Game of Thrones Season 1’ winning for Best Dramatic Presentation (Long Form) beating out ‘Captain America: The First Avenger‘, ‘Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2’, ‘Hugo‘, Ursula Vernon winning Best Graphic Story for ‘Digger,’ and the ‘Doctor Who’ episode ‘The Doctor’s Wife’ winning for Best Dramatic Presentation (Short Form) which was written by Neil Gaiman.

Everyone here at would like to congratulate everyone who received the coveted Hugo Award. The complete rundown of winners is listed below:

Best Novel: ‘Among Others’ by Jo Walton (Tor)

Best Novella: ‘The Man Who Bridged the Mist’ by Kij Johnson (Asimov’s, September/October 2011)

Best Novelette: ‘Six Months, Three Days’ by Charlie Jane Anders (

Best Short Story: ‘The Paper Menagerie’ by Ken Liu (The Magazine of Fantasy & Science Fiction, March/April 2011)

Best Related Work: ‘The Encyclopedia of Science Fiction, Third Edition’ edited by John Clute, David Langford, Peter Nicholls, and Graham Sleight (Gollancz)

Best Graphic Story: ‘Digger’ by Ursula Vernon (Sofawolf Press)

Best Dramatic Presentation (Long Form): ‘Game of Thrones’ (Season 1) (HBO)

Best Dramatic Presentation (Short Form): ‘The Doctor’s Wife’ (‘Doctor Who’) (BBC Wales)

Best Editor (Short Form): Sheila Williams

Best Editor (Long Form): Betsy Wollheim

Best Professional Artist: John Picacio

Best Semiprozine: ‘Locus’, edited by Liza Groen Trombi, Kirsten Gong-Wong, et al.

Best Fanzine: ‘SF Signal’, edited by John DeNardo

Best Fan Writer: Jim C. Hines

Best Fan Artist: Maurine Starkey

Best Fancast: ‘SF Squeecast’, Lynne M. Thomas, Seanan McGuire, Paul Cornell, Elizabeth Bear, and Catherynne M. Valente

The John W. Campbell Award for the best new professional science fiction or fantasy writer of 2010 or 2011, sponsored by Dell Magazines (not a Hugo Award): E. Lily Yu