The controversial 38th International Animated Film Society’s Annie Awards announced their awards for Best Animated Feature on February 5, 2011 (see below for a list of the winners).  Unfortunately the official press release doesn’t bring up the fact that Disney/Pixar boycotted the awards and refused to participate due to complaints they have about the voting process.  Aside from this major issue they also complained about the fact that DreamWorks Animation pays for membership but Disney doesn’t.

DreamWorks Animation was showered with 15 nominations for ‘How To Train Your Dragon and 39 nods overall that included films like DWA’s ‘Megamind and ‘Shrek Forever After.   Disney/Pixar followed with three nominations for ‘Toy Story 3’ and a measly two for ‘Tangled’. Universal’s ‘Despicable Me’ earned seven nods, while Sony Pictures Classics’ ‘The Illusionist’ received five.


Best Animated Feature

Despicable Me – Illumination Entertainment
* How to Train Your Dragon – DreamWorks Animation
Tangled – Disney
The Illusionist – Django Films
Toy Story 3 – Disney/Pixar

Best Animated Short Subject

Coyote Falls – Warner Bros. Animation
* Day & Night – Pixar
Enrique Wrecks the World – House of Chai
The Cow Who Wanted To Be A Hamburger – Plymptoons Studio
The Renter – Jason Carpenter

Best Animated Television Commercial

* Children’s Medical Center – DUCK Studios
Frito Lay Dips “And Then There Was Salsa” – LAIKA/house
‘How To Train Your Dragon’ Winter Olympic Interstitial “Speed Skating” – DreamWorks Animation
McDonald’s “Spaceman Stu” – DUCK Studios
Pop Secret “When Harry Met Sally” – Nathan Love

Best Animated Television Production

Futurama – The Curiosity Company in association with 20th Century Fox Television
* Kung Fu Panda Holiday – DreamWorks Animation
Scared Shrekless – DreamWorks Animation
Star Wars: The Clone Wars “Arc Troopers” – Lucasfilm Animation, Ltd.
The Simpsons – Gracie Films

Best Animated Television Production for Children

Adventure Time – Cartoon Network Studios
Cloudbread – GIMC
Fanboy & Chum Chum – Nickelodeon, Frederator
Regular Show – Cartoon Network Studios
* SpongeBob SquarePants – Nickelodeon

Best Animated Video Game

Heavy Rain – Quantic Dream
Kirby’s Epic Yarn – Good-Feel & HAL Laboratory
* Limbo – Playdead
Shank – Klei Entertainment Inc.

 Since 1972 The Annie Awards have been presented by the California branch of the International Animated Film Association, ASIFA-Hollywood.  Originally created to honor lifetime or career contributions to animation, in 1992 it began honoring animation as a whole, and also created the category of Best Animated Feature.