Doctor Who

‘Doctor Who’ went through some major changes this year. Of course, the first female incarnation of the Doctor played by Jodie Whittaker graced our screens with a new Tardis and Sonic. New showrunner Chris Chibnall gave us storylines that brought in the whole family. And, but we also a new composer for ‘Doctor Who,’ which is something that hasn’t happened in over a decade.

Now, the beautiful music of Segun Akinola will be featured in an album, and the BBC has shared a music video set to the theme music for the Thirteenth Doctor.

Silva Screen Records will release the ‘Doctor Who’ Season 11 soundtrack on digital and CD in January 2019. The soundtrack will be a two-disc, 41-song compilation, featuring scores from Akinola, including the new theme song for the show, and the beautiful songs from ‘Demons of the Punjab,’ episode which features vocalist Shahid Abbas Khan.

In anticipation of the soundtrack release, the BBC has released the full Thirteenth Doctor’s theme on YouTube, underscoring a music video that celebrates the beauty of the series.

Akinola recently spoke to the BBC about creating the music for ‘Doctor Who,’ saying:

“I really wanted it to be a diverse musical palette that took inspiration from various areas so musically, there are a lot of influences for this series. Everything from Adele and Imagine Dragons to Iannis Xenakis and Georg Friedrich Haas to the Radiophonic Workshop. The first time you hear [The Thirteenth Doctor’s theme] is in episode one. There’s several subtle references to it. From a musical perspective, it’s been so enjoyable to be as creative as possible and to work on stories that take us, as viewers, to all sorts of wonderful and unexpected places.”

‘Doctor Who’ just wrapped up its 11th season and will return for a New Year’s Day special before going on an extended break until 2020. Whittaker and her companions have confirmed their return for season 12.

Check out the music video below, and don’t miss the New Year’s Day special, ‘Resolution,’ on BBC!