Tyler The Creator The Grinch

A new lyric video has been released for Tyler, the Creator’s remake of ‘You’re A Mean One, Mr. Grinch’ from Illumination Entertainment and Universal Picture’s new animated movie ‘The Grinch’, the latest cinematic telling of the classic Dr. Seuss book.  The original version of the song was featured in the 1966 animated TV special and was written by Seuss himself, or rather his alter ego Theodor Geisel, with composer Albert Hague, and was sung by Thurl Ravenscroft, although it is often miscredited to Boris Karloff, who narrated the special.  Tyler, the Creator’s update is essentially a direct remake, but with some added lyrics.  Tyler, the Creator collaborated with composer Danny Elfman, who scored ‘The Grinch’, on the arrangement for the new cover.

Check it out below:


Tyler, the Creator also contributed another new song to the soundtrack, ‘I Am The Grinch’.  The soundtrack lists two tracks by Elfman, presumably instrumental scores, as well as classics by Run-DMC, The Supremes and The Brian Setzer Orchestra, among others.

Here is the soundtrack’s track listing:

  1. Tyler, the Creator: “You’re a Mean One, Mr. Grinch”
  2. Tyler, the Creator: “I Am the Grinch”
  3. Run-D.M.C.: “Christmas Is”
  4. Jackie Wilson: “Deck the Halls”
  5. The Brian Setzer Orchestra: “Run Rudolph Run”
  6. The Supremes: “Favorite Things”
  7. Buster Poindexter and His Banshees of Blue: “Zat You Santa Claus?”
  8. Run-D.M.C.: “Christmas in Hollis”
  9. The Brian Setzer Orchestra: “Jingle Bells”
  10. Nat King Cole: “The Christmas Song (Merry Christmas to You)”
  11. Pentatonix: “God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen”
  12. Danny Elfman: “A Wonderful Awful Idea”
  13. Danny Elfman: “Stealing Christmas”

‘The Grinch’, directed by Yarrow Cheney and Scott Mosier, stars Benedict Cumberbatch as The Grinch, with Pharrell Williams as the Narrator.  The voice cast also includes ‘The Jim Gaffigan Show”s Cameron Seely, Rashida Jones, Angela Lansbury, and Kenan Thompson.  It shimmies down the chimney on November 9, 2018.

Source: NME