Jessica Jones

With the release of ‘Jessica Jones’ Season 2 just around the corner (Thursday, March 8th, is only a few days away now…), Marvel is stepping up the PR game for the latest Netflix series, this time capitalizing on the good press that has come from all of the diversity on and off-screen with the series, especially since every episode of Season 2 has a female director. A new featurette delves into the empowerment of women and, really all people in the world of the show and behind the scenes, something that the creative forces of the series feels very strongly about.

According to showrunner Melissa Rosenburg:

“A powerful female protagonist or female director or female showrunner … that shouldn’t be unique.”

The featurette has Krysten Ritter, Carrie-Anne Moss, Rachael Taylor, Eka Darville, and Melissa Rosenberg speak on the “balanced” perspective of the series, how each character has depth and an emotional nuance that makes them real and relatable to the audience, even through all the super-hero action. And in Season 2, even though they had to find a way to follow a villain like Kilgrave, they still made sure to include the struggle of each character who feels compelled to help their fellow woman or man, however possible, even when they feel reluctant to get involved, which is usually the case for Jessica.

Check out the featurette for yourself below:


New York City private investigator Jessica Jones (Krysten Ritter) is beginning to put her life back together after taking down her tormenter, Kilgrave. Now known throughout the city as a super-powered killer, a new case makes her reluctantly confront who she really is while digging deeper into her past to explore the reasons why. Krysten Ritter (Jessica Jones) is joined by an incredible returning cast that includes Rachael Taylor (Trish Walker), Carrie-Anne Moss (Jeri Hogarth), Eka Darville (Malcolm Ducasse) and new cast members Janet McTeer and J.R. Ramirez, among others. Marvel’s Jessica Jones on Netflix is Executive Produced by series Showrunner Melissa Rosenberg (“Twilight”, “Dexter”), Raelle Tucker (“True Blood”), Jim Chory (“Marvel’s Daredevil”, “Marvel’s Luke Cage”, “Marvel’s Iron Fist”) and Jeph Loeb (“Marvel’s Daredevil”, “Marvel’s Luke Cage”, “Marvel’s Iron Fist”) who also serves as Marvel’s Head of Television.