luke cage logo
Another day, another ‘Luke Cage’ teaser. At least that’s how it seems, as Showrunner Cheo Hodari Coker has begun promoting Marvel’s latest Netflix series in earnest. As the show’s premiere date draws nearer, Coker has been tweeting daily teases for the series as part of a thirty one day countdown since August 29th.

Arguably the most noteworthy tease Coker has posted so far has been his reveals of the titles of every first season episode. While some of these had previously been known, Coker’s countdown has brought us the last few titles we needed to complete the list.

  1. ‘Moment Of Truth’
  2. ‘Code Of The Streets’
  3. ‘Who’s Gonna Take the Weight?’
  4. ‘Step In The Arena’
  5. ‘Just To Get A Rep’
  6. ‘Suckas Need Bodyguards’
  7. ‘Manifest’
  8. ‘Blowin’ Up The Spot’
  9. ‘DWYCK’
  10. ‘Take It Personal’
  11. ‘Now You’re Mine’
  12. ‘Soliloquy Of Chaos’
  13. ‘You Know My Steez’

Eagle-eyed readers will not that every episode titles references a Gang Starr song. While we can only speculate at the significance of the titles at this time, it’s likely that the songs being referenced could provide clues to thematic elements of both the specific episodes and the season as a whole. It may also suggest a use of music similar to that seen in ‘Guardians Of The Galaxy,’ in which the soundtrack  was as much as character as any of the film’s actual cast.

In addition to the episode titles, Coker’s daily teases have also included photos from the set, as seen in today’s post, which features a behind the scenes photo of series’ lead Mike Colter.

‘Luke Cage’ stars Mike Colter, Mahershala Ali, Alfre Woodard, Simone Missick, Theo Rossi, Frank Whaley, and Sônia Braga and is due to premiere on September 30, 2016.

Are you excited for ‘Luke Cage’? Do you think it can live up to the hype created by the success of ‘Daredevil’ and ‘Jessica Jones’? Let us know in the comments!