The sixth annual Spike TV Scream Awards was held last night at Universal Studios to celebrate the best of all things in science fiction, horror, comics and fantasy. This was a star studded event with celebrities such as Quentin Tarantino (‘Pulp Fiction’, ‘Kill Bill’), Ana Torv (‘Fringe’), Kate Beckinsale (‘Underworld’), Nicolas Cage, Robert Downey Dr., Anne Hathaway, Dylan McDermott (‘American Horror Story’), Joseph Gordon Levitt (‘The Dark Knight Rises’) and Colin Farrell (‘Fright Night’) to name a few walking the black carpet.

Out of 14 nominations, ‘Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2’ walked away with the most awards (6 in all) with ‘True Blood’, ‘Game of Thrones’ and ‘Black Swan’ coming in next winning 3 awards each. The Spike Awards is similar to the MTV Movie Awards where it is the fans who vote on the winners. For the past several weeks fans were encouraged to vote on the Spike TV website for their favorites in each category.

This year’s Scream Awards also honored the legacy of the ‘Harry Potter’ films for its years of inspiring millions of fans worldwide with a farewell tribute. The award was by presented by Samuel L. Jackson who bestowed the Ultimate Scream Award to its star, Daniel Radcliff. In true awards show form, there were lots of surprises, announcements and sneak peeks of upcoming films. This year’s Scream Awards included never-before-seen previews of  ‘Total Recall’, ‘The Woman In Black’, ‘Paranormal Activity 3’, ‘Ghost Rider: Spirit of Revenge’ and ‘Sherlock Holmes: A Game of Shadows’.

The Scream Awards will air on Tuesday, October 18 on Spike TV, so read no further if you want to be surprised, but if you don’t want to wait until then to know who won, we have a complete list of the winners from yesterday’s ceremonies below:

Best Scream Hero: Robert Downey, Jr  (who danced onto the stage to accept the award and introduce the trailer for ‘Sherlock Holmes 2’ which will be coming out in December)

Best Supporting Actor: Peter Dinklage for ‘Game of Thrones’

Best Supporting Actress: Mila Kunis for ‘Black Swan’

Breakout Performance Male: Joe Manganiello for ‘True Blood’ (Joe Manganiello accepted the award)

Breakout Performance Female:  Emilia Clarke for ‘Game of Thrones’

Best Science Fiction Actor: Matt Smith for ‘Doctor Who’ (Matt Smith was present to accept the award)

Best Science Fiction Actress: Milla Jovovich for ‘Resident Evil:  Afterlife’

Best Fantasy Actor: Daniel Radcliffe for ‘Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2’

Best Fantasy Actress: Natalie Portman for ‘Black Swan’

Best Science Fiction Movie:  ‘Super 8’ (Accepting the award was JJ Abrams himself!)

Best Thriller: ‘Limitless’ (Bradley Cooper was on hand to accept the award)

Best Independent Movie: ‘Monsters’

Best Fantasy Movie: ‘X-Men: First Class’

Best Horror Movie: ‘Let Me In’

Best Horror Actress: Chloe Grace Moretz for ‘Let Me In’ (Chloe Grace accepted for both her award and for the Best Horror Movie award)

Best Horror Actor: Alexander Skarsgård for ‘True Blood’

Best Director: Darren Aronofsky for ‘Black Swan’

Best TV Show: ‘Game of Thrones’ (Accepting the awards were Sean Bean & Lena Headey)

Best Villain: Ralph Fiennes for ‘Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2’

Best Cameo: Hugh Jackman for’ X-Men: First Class’

Best Superhero: Chris Evans as ‘Captain America’

Best Ensemble:  the cast of ‘True Blood’

Best Scream-Play: ‘Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2’

Best Chase Scene:  The chase through London in ‘Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides’

Best Fight Scene: ‘ScottPilgrim vs. The World’

Most Memorable Mutilation: Scalped Alive By Motorboat in ‘Piranha 3D’

Best 3D Movie: ‘Transformers: Dark of the Moon’

Best F/X: ‘Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2’

Best Graphic Novel or Comic Book: ‘The Walking Dead’

Best Comic Book Artist: John Romita, Jr. for his work in ‘Avengers’ and ‘Kick-Ass 2’

Best Comic Book Writer: Ed Brubaker for ‘Captain America ‘

Best Comic Book Movie: ‘Scott Pilgrim vs. The World’

Holy Sh!t Scene of the Year: ‘Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2’


Visionary Award: Pee Wee Herman
(This special award was given to Paul Reubens for the many ways he has entertained audiences as the iconic Pee-wee Herman since his introduction of the character in 1978.)

Most Anticipated Scream: ‘The Dark Knight Rises’
(This award went to the most anticipated movie that will be premiering in the next year. Anne Hathaway, Joseph Gordon Levitt & Gary Oldman came on stage to accept the award)

Comic Con ICON Award:  June Foray (Voice Actor)
(This award is presented to individuals or organizations that have been instrumental in bringing comics and/or the popular arts to a wider audience. June Foray has been working in the area of voice acting for decades and has worked on animated projects like ‘Looney Toones’ (Granny), ‘Rocky and Bullwinkle’, ‘Mulan’ (the Grandmother) and ‘The Flintstones’(Betty Rubble) to name a few.)

Maverick Award: Nicolas Cage
(This award recognizes the fearless and intriguing bodies of work an actor/actress has done in the genres. With over 60 films under his belt, Cage has blazed his own path through Hollywood and created some of the most memorable, eccentric and indelible roles.)

Ultimate Villain: Darth Vader
(In a surprise appearance, George Lucas was onstage with Lord Vader to accept this award. During the acceptance speech, Lord Vader managed to taunt Lucas regarding the digital enhancement of the recent ‘Star Wars’ Blu-ray collection set. Lucas also delivered some breaking news: “Thank you for honoring Darth Vader tonight. And just wait till you see him on the big screen in 3D next February.”)

The Ultimate Scream – Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2
(In a pre-taped segment that was filmed at the Lincoln Center in New York, Samuel L. presented the award to Daniel Radcliffe.)

The 2011 Scream Awards will air on Spike TV at 9PM ET/PT and 8PM Central, October 18th.