star trek: discovery

As this year’s San Diego Comic Con marches on, CBS has unveiled the latest trailer for the upcoming series ‘Star Trek: Discovery’. ‘Discovery’, which marks the franchise’s return to television some twelve years and change after the cancellation of ‘Star Trek: Enterprise’, is set firmly in the mid twenty-third century, about ten years before the classic adventures of Captain Kirk.

While there is a good deal of new footage in this latest trailer (which runs nearly three minutes), the producers are still keeping any details of the show’s storyline close to the vest. We do know that it will heavily feature the Klingons, who feature heavily in the trailer, suggesting that the series will be addressing the tension that defined their relationship with the Federation during this period. We also get our first glimpses, however fleeting, of a number of characters, including a brief introduction to Rainn Wilson’s Harry Mudd.

Additionally, we did get a piece of casting news during the presentation, when Anthony Rapp (who plays the show’s science officer, Lt. Stamets) announced that his “love interest and partner” will be played by Wilson Cruz. Stamets, of course, is the first openly gay character developed for a ‘Star Trek’ television series.

The panel also took the opportunity to confirm the newest member of the ‘Discovery’ team: Jeff Russo. Russo, who will serve as the series’ composer, is known for his work on ‘Fargo’ and ‘The Night Of’.

But of that! We both know you clicked on this for the trailer, which you can find here:


‘Star Trek: Discovery’ will make its long-awaited debut on September 24, 2017. The show will premiere on CBS with a special two episode event. From there, the remainder of the fifteen episode season will be released via the CBS All Access streaming service at a rate of one episode every Sunday. The series cast includes Sonequa Martin-Green, Doug Jones, Jason Isaacs, Anthony Rapp, James Frain, Michelle Yeoh, Terry Serpico, Maulik Pancholy, Sam Vartholomeos, Chris Obi, Shazad Latif, Mary Chieffo, Rainn WIlson, Rekha Sharma, Kenneth Mitchell, Clare McConnell, and Damon Runyan.

Be sure to check back with for more news on ‘Star Trek: Discovery’ as it becomes available.