Eight Hellboy Character Posters Will Fire You Up For The Movie

Can Lionsgate’s hulking red comic book hero ‘Hellboy’ take down DC’s red-suited champ ‘Shazam!’ at the box office this weekend?  We’ll have to wait and see, but in the meantime, Lionsgate has released eight eye-catching character posters to promote the movie, featuring David Harbour as the titular hellspawn, Milla Jovovich as Nimue the Blood Queen, Daniel Dae Kim as Major Ben Daimio, Sasha Lane as Alice Monaghan, Ian McShane as Professor Broom, Douglas Tait as Gruagach, plus Baba Yaga and the giants.

Check them out:

Hellboy is back, and he’s on fire. From the pages of Mike Mignola’s seminal work, this action-packed story sees the legendary half-demon superhero (David Harbour, “Stranger Things”) called to the English countryside to battle a trio of rampaging giants. There he discovers The Blood Queen, Nimue (Milla Jovovich, Resident Evil series), a resurrected ancient sorceress thirsting to avenge a past betrayal. Suddenly caught in a clash between the supernatural and the human, Hellboy is now hell-bent on stopping Nimue without triggering the end of the world.

‘Hellboy’ also stars Thomas Haden Church as Lobster Johnson, Penelope Mitchell as Ganeida, Sophie Okonedo as Lady Hatton, Brian Gleeson as Merlin, Alistair Petrie as Lord Adam Glaren, and Stephen Graham as the voice of Gruagach.  The film was directed by Neil Marshall.

The film’s plot is reported to draw from the comic book stories  “Darkness Calls,” “The Wild Hunt,” and “The Storm and the Fury.”

Last weekend, the top two movies in America were ‘Shazam!’ and the Stephen King adaptation ‘Pet Sematary’.  Last month’s two biggest movies were ‘Captain Marvel’ and Jordan Peele’s ‘Us’.  With superhero and horror movies as the two reigning genres at the moment, hopefully ‘Hellboy’ can succeed by combining the two.  While the R-rated ‘Hellboy’ may not be mighty enough to topple ‘Shazam!’, it should easily nudge past ‘Pet Sematary’.

What do you think?  Will ‘Hellboy’ win the weekend?

‘Hellboy’ opens on April 12.


Source: IMP Awards