Marvel Studios Official Timeline Marvel Cinematic Universe

As part of the 10-year anniversary of the Marvel Cinematic Universe, Marvel Studios has just released an official timeline of their films! This starts at the beginning and takes the franchise up through ‘Avengers: Infinity War‘ which is perfect if you need a refresher of what order to have your own film fest with or if you’re about to introduce younger Marvel fans to the MCU. Of course, this doesn’t include the television shows so if you plan on including the likes of Marvel’s ‘Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D.’ it would be best to do some further research as well. The timeline is being included in the “Marvel Studios: The First 10 Years’ sourcebook.

While there are more details in the book, the actual timeline is as follows:

  • 1943-1945: Captain America: The First Avenger
  • 2010: Iron Man
  • 2011: Iron Man 2, The Incredible Hulk, Thor
  • 2012: The Avengers, Iron Man 3
  • 2013: Thor: The Dark World
  • 2014: Captain America: The Winter Soldier, Guardians of the Galaxy, Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2
  • 2015: Avengers: Age of Ultron, Ant-Man
  • 2016: Captain America: Civil War, Spider-Man: Homecoming
  • 2016 through to 2017: Doctor Strange
  • 2017: Black Panther, Thor: Ragnarok, Avengers: Infinity War

As you can see, the events in some of these movies easily overlap while some of that has a bit of a time jump between them. It feels unlikely that The Avengers, on the whole, was completely inactive from 2012 to 2015 so it feels that if the studio wanted to flesh out some of their minor adventures with books, comics, or animated one-shots there would be plenty of opportunities to do so after the events of ‘Avengers 4.’ It doesn’t seem feasible that more movies would be made to tell these stories, but it wouldn’t be impossible to see this happen now that we know how many years have passed between the films.

While it is great to see Marvel Studios having an official timeline released there are examples which make this not entirely accurate. One of which is that ‘Avengers: Infinity War’ hinted that it should be two years after ‘Captain American: Civil war’ and not one.

If ‘Avengers 4’ does feature time travel that radically alters the past of the MCU this could all be a moot point anyway.

Are you happy to finally see a timeline for the Marvel Cinematic Universe? Do you think that Marvel Studios shouldn’t have released this if it’ll be drastically altered in ‘Avengers 4’? Share your thoughts in the comments below, True Believers!